15 December 2020

Podwireless Archive Winter 2010

 

PLAY LINK: PODWIRELESS ARCHIVE WINTER 2010

(This playlink is to Mixcloud streaming:  you can also download the podcasts from Podomatic )

 

Two programmes first heard a decade back during Podwireless’s earlier incarnation as fRoots Radio, associated with fRoots magazine (RIP).  

Some of the label web links that were given back then no longer work – either the labels no longer exist or the CDs are out of catalogue. Where nothing's listed here, I suggest going to Discogs where, in most cases, you can at least buy a second-hand copy.

 

1. (Sig) English Country Blues Band : The Italian Job from the CD Unruly (Weekend Beatnik) ghostsfromthebasement.bandcamp.com

2. Los De Abajo : Fiesta from the CD Actitud Calle (Wrasse) wrasserecords.com

3. AfroCubism : Jarabi from the CD Afro Cubism (World Circuit) worldcircuit.co.uk

4. Devon Sproule : Come Comet Or Dove from the CD Live In London (Tin Angel) tinangelrecords.com

5. The Shee : Sugar And Pie from the CD Decadence (Shee) theshee.com

6. Husnü Senlendirici & Trio Chios : Seftalisi Ala Benziyor from the CD Ege'nin Iki Yani (Doublemoon)

7. Syriana : The Great Game from the CD The Road To Damascus (Real World) realworldrecords.com

8. Andy Irvine : The Demon Lover from the CD Abocurragh (Andy Irvine) andyirvine.com

9. Ralph McTell : A Kiss In The Rain from the CD Somewhere Down The Road (Leola) ralphmctell.co.uk

10. Matthaios Tsahouridis : Ela Poulim from the CD Looking For A New England 2 (fRoots) frootsmag.com

11. The Krar Collective : Wollo from the CD Looking For A New England 2 (fRoots) frootsmag.com

12. Lemez Duo feat. Ben Mandelson : The Island from the CD Echoes From The Mountain (Rif Mountain) rifmountain.com/

13. Robert Plant : Cindy, I'll Marry You Someday from the CD Band Of Joy (Decca) robertplant.com

14. Nadezhda Zlateva : Slushai Malka Mome from the CD Lost Treasures Of Bulgarian Music (JSP) jsprecords.com

15. Orchestra Makassy : Mambo Bado from the CD Africa: 50 Years Of Music (Discograph) sternsmusic.com

16. Cheikha Rimitti : Nouar from the CD On Air (Tradition & Moderne) tradition-moderne.com

17. (Sig repeat) English Country Blues Band : The Italian Job from the CD Unruly (Weekend Beatnik) ghostsfromthebasement.bandcamp.com

18. Albert Kuvezin & Yhat Kha : Are You Scared Of Death from the CD Poets & Lighthouses (Yat-Kha)

19. Carolina Chocolate Drops & Luminescent Orchestrii : Escoutas (Diga Diga Diga) from the CD EP (Nonesuch) nonesuch.com

20. Damily : Nahoda from the CD Ela Lia (Helico) helicomusic.com

21. Yemen Blues : Jat Mahibathi from the CD Yemen Blues (Globalev) yemenblues.com

22. Manos Achalinotopoulos feat. Susheela Raman : Sab Kuchi Siikha Hamne Anari from the CD Zopirin (Universal Greece)

23. Los Illusionistas : Colegiala from the CD The Roots Of Chicha 2 (Crammed Discs) crammed.be

24. Katie Rose : Grey Lady Morning from the CD Echoes From The Mountain (Rif Mountain) rifmountain.com

25. Laura Marling : Blues Run The Game from the vinyl single (Third Man) thirdmanrecords.com

26. June Tabor : Shipbuilding from the CD Ashore (Topic) topicrecords.co.uk

27. Svetlana Spajic Group : Dodi Moje Sa Otrica Janje from the demo CD Svetlana Spajic Group (unreleased) svetlanaspajic.com

28. Be-Being : Chunsoobara from the demo CD Li And Sa (unreleased)

29. Jienat : Mira from the CD Mira (Jienat) jienat.com

30. Ralph Jordan : Vipschottis from the CD Eloise (Attic)

31. Angles : Spider from the CD Angles (Angles) anglesmusic.co.uk

32. Tymon Dogg : Battle Of Wills from the CD The Irrepressible Tymon Dogg (Rev-Ola) revola.co.uk

33. Ronnie Lane & Slim Chance : How Come from the CD Just For A Moment (UMC) ronnielane.com

34. Rahim Alhaj w. Bill Frisell : Morning In Hyattsville from the CD Little Earth (UR Music) rahimalhaj.com

 

Like/ follow the Podwireless Facebook page: facebook.com/podwireless

Podwireless is available for free: it’s a labour of love and public service netcasting. If you would like to make a voluntary contribution to its running costs, see the Tip Jar link at the top of the column on the right or just go to https://www.paypal.me/unmanage !


To submit CDs for consideration for Podwireless, send to:
Ian Anderson
Podwireless
PO Box 3072
Bristol BS8 9GF
UK

 

And see the FAQ

No comments:

Post a comment